Seriously this is the perfect salad! I know kale and Brussels sprouts are not the most exciting foods, but this shredded Kale and Brussels Sprouts Salad coated in a Dijon vinaigrette has become my latest addiction!

FullSizeRender (48)

Recently I was introduced to this salad by my lovely friend Maggie. The last time we hung out we coordinated to grab all the ingredients necessary to whip together this salad. Since making it with her I have made it twice this past week. I may be going a little overboard…oops! However, I don’t know what I enjoy more, the lightness of the Dijon honey vinaigrette, the crunch from the chopped almonds or the surprise of the tart pomegranate seeds. This salad is colorful and healthy, yet has just enough of a “sharp bite” to pull the salad together.

Kale is one of my absolute favorites so I had a hunch I would enjoy this salad. However, I have never eaten Brussels sprouts in its raw form and to my surprise it has
a nice crunch and holds up well to the vinaigrette. So even if you don’t like Brussels sprouts this recipe may be the one you need to try! Cutting them up into thin ribbons definitely helps. With the green from the vegetables and the red from the pomegranate seeds this is the perfect holiday salad for Christmas, cheers!

FullSizeRender (46)

FullSizeRender (47)

Kale and Brussels Sprouts Raw Salad

(Serves 4)

Ingredients

SALAD

1 lb Brussels sprouts, sliced thinly

1 small batch of kale (5 cups), ribs removed and leaves sliced thinly

1 cup pomegranate seeds

3/4 cup almonds, coarsely chopped

DIJON HONEY VINAIGRETTE

1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

1 1/2 T Dijon mustard

1/2 T honey

1 tsp salt

1 tsp black pepper

1/4 cup olive oil

Directions
  1. Finely chop washed Brussels sprouts and de-ribbed kale leaves into thin ribbons.
  2. De-seed pomegranate, remove seeds from white tissue. (I place half the pomegranate into a bowl of water and submerged in the water break apart the skin, releasing the seeds from the tissue. The seeds will sink to the bottom of the bowl and the white tissue will float making it easier to separate the seeds from what you don’t want.)
  3. Coarsely chop the full almonds or use a rolling pin to crush the nuts.
  4. Place all four ingredients in a bowl and combine together.
  5. To make the vinaigrette combine apple cider vinegar, Dijon mustard, honey, salt, pepper and olive oil in a separate bowl. Whisk until fully combined. Taste test and add more of whatever ingredient you want to have the strongest flavor.
  6. Drizzle dressing over salad, gently toss and ENJOY!
